top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLei's simple cuisine

My favorite way of TONKATSU

Updated: Nov 24, 2020



Tonkatsu
Lei's version of tonkatsu

Tonkatsu is definitely one of the most well-know Japanese food.

I love it.


This is now my favorite recipe which successfully meet my only 3 requirements from this dish:


1) Crispy on the outside

2) Tender on the inside

2) Lots of flavor


Ingredients I used + Where to buy them

Pork chop 2(about 400g)

Corn starch 10 tbsp

Tapioca starch 4 tbsp

Salt 1/4 tsp

Sugar 1/2 tsp

Baking soda 1/8 tsp

White pepper 1/4 tsp

Chinese 5 spices powder 1/4 tsp

Black pepper powder 1/4 tsp

Rice wine 1 tbsp

Oyster sauce 1 tbsp


Tips

Tip 1 - How to deal with the lean meat ?


Honestly we don't love dry meat. That‘s why we love braised pork that much!

But wait a minute, lean meat dry meat.

It has its way to become tender.

But we need to deal with it right.

My tip is: Using corn starch to wash it and soak it


Using corn starch to wash the pork chop and soak it before making tonkatsu
Using the corn starch to wash the pock chop, change the water and soak for 40 minutes


Tip 2 - How to enhance the tenderness ?


Yes, still tenderness I am talking about.

How to enhance it after washing and soaking it ?

My tip is 3-step knife breaking the fibres. Of course it is easier to buy a nice looking hammer designed especially for this, but if you don't have a supplement budget (or more space in your kitchen 😂 ), maybe use my method. I explained really really detailed how, in my video, please don't miss that.



3 step method to tenderize the pork chop
3 step knife method to tenderize the pork chop

This is not an optional step cause it will not only tenderize the meat, but also make it thinner which is important because,

Image a thick piece of meat, how long it will take to fry it ?

It helps to Control the timing.


Tip 3 - I don't want to fry anything in my kitchen today


Yes I agree with that, sometimes I don't like the pot the oil.

I used only 200 - 250 ml oil in this recipe to "fry" the pork chop

AND

I fried it only for ONE time !


If you already fried something, then you must know we have to fry something twice most of the time to make it more crispy.

My tip is using fewer oil to helps us to control the temperature works on the surface so that we could use high heat all the time but not to burn it , the oil only touches the down side



Use fewer oil to fry the tonkatsu
Do you see the amount of oil I used to fry it ?

But one thing is always the most important for my tonkatsu: it has to be very very crispy!

Do you fry things, and sometimes it works, it is crispy but sometimes just not?

( Please Use my mixed of flower shown in my video, you will get 100 successfully crispy for 100 tonkatsu you make. Do you believe me ? )


English Tutorial Video Made With All My Heart

How to make Tonkatsu

I know I probably rattled too much, here is the video recipe.

It is not that hard. All this effort is for you to make it the easiest way possible.

I am leilei , Welcome to my kitchen. ☀️



34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page